bookish, halloween

8 Books To Get You Into The Mood For Halloween

This will probably be a weird Halloween season, so I thought I’d put together some books if anyone needs help getting into the Halloween mood!

We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson

My Review

I’d recommend this book for any time of year, but it does seem perfect for Halloween.

The Saturday Night Ghost Club by Craig Davidson

My Review

This book feels almost like watching a Stephen King book, it’s all nostalgia and ghosts and it’s great.

The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson

My Review

I don’t know if anything else like Halloween like a haunted house.

Vampires in the Lemon Grove by Karen Russell

This book has some of the weirdest and creepy short stories I’ve read!

Devolution: A Firsthand Account of the Rainier Sasquatch Massacre by Max Brooks

From the Author of World War Z is a book in a similar style about Bigfoot. It’s incredibly fun and scary!

Sawkill Girls by Claire Legrand

I think this is the perfect dark mystery for the season!

The Turn of the Key by Ruth Ware

This book feels so isolated and so creepy I think it’s perfect for the Halloween.

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

This is one of the cutest spooky books I’ve every read, I’d recommend it to anyone!

Let me know if you have any more books that scream Halloween to you, I’m always on the hunt for more spooky books!

17 thoughts on “8 Books To Get You Into The Mood For Halloween”

  1. Your description of The Graveyard Book as a cute spooky book is so spot on 😂 Maybe I’ll add We Have Always Lived in the Castle to my month; it’s been on my shelf since college and it’s so short but intriguing. 👌

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment